The International English Language Testing System (IELTS), which is now available online, is a test of English for people who do not speak English as their first language but intend to study or train in English. It tests reading, writing, listening and speaking ability and provides results in an easy-to-understand band score (the score is out of 9). It is a basic entry requirement for both undergraduate and postgraduate degrees at English-speaking universities.

Who administers IELTS?
IELTS is jointly managed by The University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate (UCLES), The British Council and the International Development Program of Australian Universities and Colleges (IDP). It is administered by UCLES (Cambridge, England).

Who accepts IELTS?
IELTS is accepted globally by nearly all English speaking academic institutions. You can check for the specific institution and the respective requisite score at:

What is the test?
There are four parts to the test, taken in the following order:

  • Listening: 4 sections, 40 items (30 minutes)
  • Reading 3 sections, 40 items (60 minutes)
  • Writing 2 tasks (150 and 250 words) (60 minutes)
  • Speaking (10-15 minutes)

The Speaking Test consists of 3 sections:

  • Section 1: Introductions and General Questions
  • Section 2: Short Presentation
  • Section 3: Discussion

When and where can you take the test?
There are normally two test dates every calendar month. The examination takes place at various different venues in major cities throughout Greece. Be sure to book a test date well in advance, especially during busy periods such as May to July. More specific information about the booking process can be found at the British Council website:

When are the results available?
Results are normally sent out to candidates via SMS text messages, email and post, and to the institutions to which they have applied, if required, thirteen (13) days after taking the test.
Tests are marked by highly qualified English language teachers who are further trained and certificated by the British Council.
Tests and results are also monitored by UCLES to make sure standards are maintained.